Gloucester Museum Of History
The Botetourt Building is the home of the Gloucester Museum of History. The Botetourt Building, formerly the Botetourt Hotel, was built in the late eighteenth century as a roadside tavern or ordinary and was known as John New's Ordinary. Colonial Gloucester County records of 1802 showBoutetourt Building the owner as Phillip Tabb of Toddsbury. It is one of the largest, as well as one of the few brick taverns surviving from the pre-Revolutionary period. The building is said to have been named for Lord Botetourt Norborne Berkeley, Baron of Botetourt, sent from Gloucester, England to be Governor of Virginia.
Sisters, Misses Emily and Ada Cox, assumed operation of the hotel in 1906 and served local residents and travelers in grand style. They purchased it in 1915 and began renovations which brought many changes to the building.
In 1965, the County purchased the building, restored it to its eighteenth century appearance and renamed it the Botetourt Administration Building. It housed county administrative offices for several years.
In 1971, the county received the first Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities Award for Historic Preservation for restoring and finding a functional use for the building.
The center of Gloucester town has several shops and restaurants. At the far end of town is a drive around circle which contains several historic revolutionary and civil war era buildings including a debtors prison, a courthouse, historic records visitor center and a very nice museum of Gloucester history.
Great place to experience Gloucester History.
Informative and helpful person
Lots of Civil War history here.