The Robert E. Lee Memorial Foundation, a non-profit organization first incorporated in New York, purchased the Stratford Hall property in 1929 and began raising the funds to pay off its $240,000 price tag in the midst of the Great Depression. By the time of its dedication in 1935, Stratford Hall was paid for and most of the historic buildings and gardens had been restored.
When the Foundation incorporated in Virginia in the 1970s, our name was changed to the Robert E. Lee Memorial Association. The Association is currently comprised of around forty directors from across the country and Great Britain.
Stratford Hall, which occupies around 1900 acres along the Potomac River, is still farmed and has a public dining room, gift shop, research library, and visitor center. We offer guided tours of the original eighteenth-century Great House, and visitors can hike our nature trails, walk through the restored gardens, see museum exhibits, and view the cliffs from our overlook high above the Potomac. Our educational programs for school groups address a wide range of learning opportunities.
Â Â Â Stratford Hall preserves the legacy of the Lee family and its plantation community, inspires an appreciation of America's past, and encourages commitment to the ideals of leadership,honor, independent thought and civic responsibility.
For visitors desiring an extended visit, we can provide overnight accommodations for individuals as well as for group retreats. Our professional, on-site staff is ready to help make your visit enjoyable and memorable.